Skip to main content
Skip table of contents

SAML 2.0 with Microsoft Azure Active Directory

Advance information

In this section, the configuration of Microsoft Azure AD for using SAML 2.0 with CURSOR-CRM is demonstrated. This configuration corresponds to the recommendations of CURSOR Software AG. However, the configuration of the NameID attribute in particular should be coordinated with an Azure AD administrator on a case-by-case basis.

Preconditions

  • The CURSOR Single Sign-on module must be imported in CRM

  • The "SAMLLoginName" field must be present on the "Employee" entity mask

    • The value of the configured NameID attribute must be entered here

    • We generally recommend using the email address (the documentation below is based on this choice)

    • Important: the value entered here is case-sensitive, i.e. the value must be found identically in the attributes of the Azure AD user

Information from CURSOR to the customer

The data mentioned in point 5 of the "Step by step instructions" can be read out via the system information or based on

  • Identifier (Entity ID)

    • Web Client URL: https://crm.example.com:18443/webclient/

  • "Reply URL (Assertion Consumer Service URL)"

    • SAML URL: https://crm.example.com:18443/webclient/samlLogin

Information from the customer to CURSOR

The "App Federation Metadata Url" specified in point 3 of the "Step by step instructions" must be communicated by the customer to CURSOR after the Azure AD application has been created so that it can be entered in the system settings.

Step by step instructions

To use SAML 2.0 with CURSOR-CRM, the CURSOR-CRM installation must first be registered as an Enterprise Application in the Azure Active Directory admin center. These steps must be performed by a person with appropriate Azure AD administration permissions.

  1. In the "Enterprise applications" section, select "Create your own application" from the menu. A new area will open where the name of the application (in this example "CRM-Prod") must be specified. In addition, the use case "Integrate any other application you don't find in the gallery (Non-gallery)" must be selected.

  2. In the new Enterprise application, open the "Single sign-on" area and select "SAML" as the method.

  3. Now the mask for configuring the SAML details opens. Here the "App Federation Metadata Url" can be viewed and copied. This value must then be entered in the system settings of the CRM system in the "SAML 2.0 Login" area in the "URL of the Identity Provider (IDP) metadata" field.


  4. In the SAML settings in Azure AD, click the "Edit" button in the "Basic SAML Configuration" section.

  5. Now a dialog opens where the values "Identifier (Entity ID)" and "Reply URL (Assertion Consumer Service URL)" have to be entered.
    The Web Client URL of the CRM system must be entered here as the entity ID, for example https://crm.example.com:18443/webclient/.
    The value of the Reply URL is composed of the Web Client URL and an appended /samlLogin, so for example https://crm.example.com:18443/webclient/samlLogin

    After entering these values, the dialog can be closed by clicking "Save".

  6. Now the "Attributes & Claims" section must also be edited by clicking on "Edit". This will open a page for editing the claims.
    On this page, the claim "Unique User Identifier (Name ID)" must now be edited by clicking on the associated button.

  7. In the claim settings for the Name ID, the preferred format for the Name ID can now be specified, as well as the Active Directory attribute from which this value is formed. We recommend "Email address" as the format here and "user.userprincipalname" as the "Source attribute".
    This attribute is used to identify the associated employee when logging into CRM. The name specified in the "SAML Login Name" field on the employee dataset (SAMLLoginName.Employee) must exactly match (case sensitive) the value transferred from Azure AD in order to perform user mapping.

  8. In order for users or user groups to be allowed to authenticate themselves on the Enterprise application that has now been set up, a user assignment must now be made in the "Users and groups" area. This can be newly created with the help of the "Add user/group" button.

  9. On the now opened mask, individual Azure AD users as well as user groups can be authorized to authenticate themselves against CURSOR-CRM using SAML 2.0. Suitable groups should be coordinated with an Azure AD administrator for this purpose.

After performing these steps, the configuration of Azure AD for using SAML 2.0 with CURSOR-CRM is completed. The next steps should now also be to configure the CRM system to use SAML in the system settings. Also, in the employee datasets, the "SAML Login Name" field (SAMLLoginName.Employee) must be set to exactly match the Name IDs sent from Azure AD so that user mapping can be performed.

After that, the login with Azure AD via SAML is ready for use.

JavaScript errors detected

Please note, these errors can depend on your browser setup.

If this problem persists, please contact our support.

Skip to main content
Skip table of contents

SAML 2.0 mit Microsoft Azure Active Directory

Vorabinformationen

In diesem Abschnitt wird die Konfiguration von Microsoft Azure AD für die Verwendung von SAML 2.0 mit CURSOR-CRM dargestellt. Diese Konfiguration entspricht den Empfehlungen der CURSOR Software AG. Insbesondere die Konfiguration des NameID-Attributs sollte aber im Einzelfall mit einem Azure AD Administrator abgestimmt werden.

Voraussetzungen

  • Das CURSOR Single-Sign-On Modul muss im CRM importiert sein

  • Das Feld "SAMLLoginName" muss auf der Maske der Entität "Employee" vorzufinden sein

    • Hier muss der Wert des konfigurierten NameID-Attributs eingetragen werden

    • Wir empfehlen grundsätzlich den Einsatz der E-Mailadresse (die nachstehende Doku basiert auf dieser Wahl)

    • Wichtig: der hier eingetragene Wert ist Case-Sensitive, d.h. der Wert muss identisch in den Attributen des Azure AD Benutzers vorzufinden sein

Informationen von CURSOR an den Kunden

Die in Punkt 5 der "Schritt-für-Schritt-Anleitung" erwähnten Daten, können über die Systeminformationen ausgelesen werden oder auf Basis 

  • Identifier (Entity ID)

    • Webclient URL: https://crm.example.com:18443/webclient

  • "Reply URL (Assertion Consumer Service URL)"

    • SAML URL: https://crm.example.com:18443/webclient/samlLogin

Informationen vom Kunden an CURSOR

Die in Punkt 3 der "Schritt-für-Schritt-Anleitung" angegebene "App Federation Metadata Url" muss der Kunde nach der Erstellung der Azure AD Applikation CURSOR mitteilen, damit diese in den Systemeinstellungen eingetragen werden kann.

Schritt-für-Schritt-Anleitung

Für die Nutzung von SAML 2.0 mit CURSOR-CRM muss die CURSOR-CRM-Installation zunächst als Enterprise Application im Azure Active Directory admin center registriert werden. Diese Schritte müssen von einer Person mit entsprechenden Berechtigungen zur Administration von Azure AD durchgeführt werden.

  1. Im Bereich "Enterprise applications" im Menü "Create your own application" auswählen. Daraufhin öffnet sich ein neuer Bereich, in dem der Name der Anwendung (in diesem Beispiel "CRM-Prod") angegeben werden muss. Außerdem muss als Use-Case "Integrate any other application you don't find in the gallery (Non-gallery)" gewählt werden.

  2. In der neuen Enterprise application den Bereich "Single sign-on" öffnen und als Methode "SAML" auswählen.

  3. Nun öffnet sich die Maske zur Konfiguration der SAML-Details. Hier kann die "App Federation Metadata Url" eingesehen und kopiert werden. Dieser Wert muss dann in den Systemeinstellungen des CRM-Systems im Bereich "SAML 2.0 Login" im Feld "URL der Metadaten des Identity Providers (IDP)" eingetragen werden.


  4. In den SAML-Einstellungen in Azure AD im Bereich "Basic SAML Configuration" den "Edit"-Button anklicken.

  5. Nun öffnet sich ein Dialog, in dem die Werte "Identifier (Entity ID)" und "Reply URL (Assertion Consumer Service URL)" eingetragen werden müssen.
    Als Entity ID muss hier die Web Client URL des CRM-Systems eingetragen werden, also zum Beispiel https://crm.example.com:18443/webclient.
    Der Wert der Reply URL setzt sich aus der Web Client URL und einem angehängten /samlLogin zusammen, also zum Beispiel https://crm.example.com:18443/webclient/samlLogin

    Nach dem Eintragen dieser Werte kann der Dialog mit einem Klick auf "Save" geschlossen werden.

  6. Nun muss auch der Bereich "Attributes & Claims" mit einem Klick auf "Edit" bearbeitet werden. Daraufhin öffnet sich eine Seite zur Bearbeitung der Claims.
    Auf dieser Seite muss nun der Claim "Unique User Identifier (Name ID)" mit einem Klick auf den zugehörigen Button bearbeitet werden.

  7. In den Claim-Einstellungen für die Name ID kann nun das präferierte Format für die Name ID sowie das Active Directory Attribut, aus dem dieser Wert gebildet wird, angegeben werden. Wir empfehlen als Format hier "Email address" und als "Source attribute" "user.userprincipalname".
    Dieses Attribut wird bei der Anmeldung im CRM zur Identifizierung des zugehörigen Mitarbeiters verwendet. Der im Feld "SAML Login-Name" auf dem Mitarbeiterdatensatz (SAMLLoginName.Employee) angegebene Name muss exakt (unter Beachtung von Groß- und Kleinschreibung) dem von Azure AD übertragenen Wert entsprechen, damit die Userzuordnung vorgenommen werden kann.

  8. Damit sich Benutzer oder Benutzergruppen an der nun eingerichteten Enterprise application authentifizieren dürfen, muss nun noch im Bereich "Users and groups" eine Benutzerzuordnung vorgenommen werden. Diese kann mit Hilfe des Buttons "Add user/group" neu angelegt werden.

  9. Auf der nun geöffneten Maske können sowohl einzelne Azure AD-Benutzer als auch Benutzergruppen dazu berechtigt werden, sich gegenüber CURSOR-CRM mit Hilfe von SAML 2.0 zu authentifizieren. Geeignete Gruppen sollten hierzu mit einem Azure AD Administrator abgestimmt werden.

Nach der Ausführung dieser Schritte ist die Konfiguration von Azure AD für die Nutzung von SAML 2.0 mit CURSOR-CRM abgeschlossen. Als nächste Schritte sollte nun auch das CRM-System in den Systemeinstellungen für die Nutzung von SAML konfiguriert werden. Außerdem muss in den Mitarbeiterdatensätzen das Feld "SAML Login-Name" (SAMLLoginName.Employee) so gesetzt sein, dass es genau den von Azure AD gesendeten Name IDs entspricht, damit die Nutzerzuordnung vorgenommen werden kann.

Danach ist der Login mit Azure AD via SAML einsatzbereit.

JavaScript errors detected

Please note, these errors can depend on your browser setup.

If this problem persists, please contact our support.